Company News

Hastings Mutual Honors Employees


Hastings, Mich. – December 19, 2012:  Hastings Mutual Insurance Company recently announced the recipients of the annual Hastings Highest Award, the most prestigious award in the Hastings Mutual award and recognition program.  The award was presented on Friday, December 7 by Hastings Mutual President and CEO, Joe Babiak, during the annual Service Awards Program.

This year, the Hastings Highest recognition was awarded to multiple recipients. The first recipient is a team of employees who led the effort to research, quantify, and correct a payment error that recovered 2.8 million dollars for the company in overpaid expenses. This team consisted of Annette Roth, Accounting Manager, and Karen Lancaster, Programmer Analyst. Lindsay Nichols, Product Development Technician, also received a Hastings Highest award for her contributions in providing critical leadership during the implementation of the company’s new production printers.

The Hastings Highest Award was established to formally honor and recognize Hastings Mutual employees who demonstrate behaviors identified as key to the continued growth and success of Hastings Mutual.  Employees considered for the annual award are selected from the group of PRIDE award recipients for the year. PRIDE stands for Positive Recognition of Initiative Demonstrated by Employees. These awards are presented during quarterly recognition ceremonies. 

During the ceremony, Service Awards were also presented to employees for their many years of service and dedication to Hastings Mutual.

Five years: Bud Sager, Mike Murphy, Joe Hunold, Melissa Mesara, Bill Mansfield, Nancy Metzner,  Andrew Coates, Renee Beauford, Faith Laubaugh, Rebecca Ruley, Leslie Bender, Jody Armstrong, Shannon Heads, Carl Lickley, and Mike Schaper.

Ten years: Travis Possehn, Sarah Bible, Kim Dingman, Laura Dutcher, Debbie Mead, Mark Smith, Reggie Medendorp, Tracy Neil, Tammy La Lone, Katie Daugherty, Sandi Reidsma, Ryan Peel, Chad Swearingen, Doug Fall.

Fifteen years: Sossity Bolen, Jennifer Rhoades, Brian Wagner, John Yoder, Candice Mapes, Kathy Davis, Holly Throop, Kristy Cabral, Louanne Oaks, Barb Scott, Char Madden, and Sue Dryer.

Twenty years: Karen Lancaster, Mindie Harmon, and Becky Lumbert.

Twenty five years: Kim Hilton, Phil Fye, and Mindy Shepler, Vicky Jiles, Jane Blake, and Terry Hilborn.

Thirty years: Ginger Laubaugh, Sandy Cranmore, Traci Leedy, Louanne Fields, and Frederic Halbert (Board of Director).

Thirty five years: Wayne Kidder and Barb Mix.

Additionally, the company recently recognized Don Hendricks, Pricing & Data Analytics Manager, and Sherry Oyer, Support Services Manager, with the Chairman’s Choice award. The Chairman’s Choice recipient is selected solely by the Chairman, Joe Babiak.  It is an award open to employees in all positions at Hastings Mutual and is entirely up to the discretion of the Chairman and the efforts he observes. 

Don was recognized for the increased sophistication he has brought to the pricing process at Hastings Mutual as a result of his actuarial training and experience.  Sherry was recognized for being a selfless leader who is dedicated to the development, growth, and promotion of her team. 

About Hastings Mutual Insurance Company
Hastings Mutual Insurance Company is an award-winning, A. M. Best: A+ rated, regional Property Casualty insurance company. Hastings Mutual operates in the six Midwestern states of Michigan, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Ohio, and Wisconsin. The company, based in Hastings, Michigan, was founded in 1885. Hastings Mutual writes commercial, farm, and personal lines business through a network of independent insurance agents. For more information about Hastings Mutual visit the company website at or find them on Facebook and Twitter.

Link to this article